Which Agreement Was Signed By India And Pakistan In 1999

The declaration was signed at the meeting of Pakistani Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif and Indian Prime Minister Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee on 20-21 February 1999 in Lahore, Pakistan. The two heads of state and government discussed all bilateral relations, regional cooperation within the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) and other issues of international interest. In a joint statement, they decided that it might be difficult to find a balance in the nuclear relations of India and Pakistan, as both nations plan to test and use new ballistic missile systems. Islamabad is reportedly ready for a second test of its 1,300-kilometer-long Ghauri missile, as well as a first flight test of its new 750-kilometre Shaheen solid-fuel missile. Although New Delhi has reportedly twice postponed test flights of its 1,500-kilometre-long Agni missile, it still plans to continue the development of the Agni-II, which has a declared range of 3,500 kilometres. February 1999 - Indian Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee holds a summit in Lahore with his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif. If necessary, the technical details of the above measures should be developed by experts from both sides at meetings that will take place on mutually agreed dates by mid-1999, with a view to reaching bilateral agreements. Relations between the two nations were completely changed when the Kargil War broke out in May 1999, following the sudden revelation that Pakistani soldiers had entered Indian-managed Kashmir. [12] [13] The Indian army was deployed to dislodge Pakistani army soldiers and retake the disputed territory. [12] The two-month conflict brought the lives of hundreds of soldiers on both sides and brought the two nations closer to a global war and a possible nuclear conflict. [6] [9] After this conflict, the "Lahore Treaty" was blocked and no further discussions took place between the two countries on promoting dialogue and the CBM launched in Lahore in February 1999.

[9] The two Prime Ministers signed the Lahore Declaration, in which they embody their common vision of peace and stability between their countries, as well as progress and prosperity for their peoples.

284 Total Views 4 Views Today
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by admin. Bookmark the permalink.